My response to the Oscar boycott

A Place to Hang

I didn’t really plan on making a post about this but I have had the conversation several times now and so I feel that I should write about it.

Here’s the thing. If you know me (most of my readers do I’m sure) you know that I spent most of my life wanting to be an actor. It was my major in school for 11 of the 17 years I was in school. I only decided to give it up in the last six years or so. My boyfriend is still pursing his goal of being an actor. So it is close to my heart.

Racism is something that is still incredibly prevalent in the entertainment industry. It goes back to blackface, when it was okay to appropriate our culture but not for us to perform the songs and dances we created. While we have made many strides toward inclusion…

View original post 787 more words

Leave a Reply

